Please do not send your child to school with symptoms of covid. Please contact the school office for advice. Thank you for your continued support.
Home Page

Rice Lane Primary School

Be happy together, Believe together, Achieve together

Progress & Achievement


The ‘basic’ school curriculum includes the ‘national curriculum’, as well as religious education and sex education.

The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

Other types of school like academies and private schools don’t have to follow the national curriculum. Academies must teach a broad and balanced curriculum including English, maths and science. They must also teach religious education.

Key stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, your child’s teacher will formally assess their performance to measure your child’s progress.

Age Year Key stage Assessment Average level of attainment
3 to 4   Early years    
4 to 5 Reception Early years    
5 to 6 Year 1 KS1 Phonics screening check  
6 to 7 Year 2 KS1 Teacher assessments in English, maths and science Expected
7 to 8 Year 3 KS2    
8 to 9 Year 4 KS2    
9 to 10 Year 5 KS2    
10 to 11 Year 6 KS2 National tests and teacher assessments in English, maths and science Expected
11 to 12 Year 7 KS3 Teacher assessments  
12 to 13 Year 8 KS3 Teacher assessments  
13 to 14 Year 9 KS3 Teacher assessments Expected
14 to 15 Year 10 KS4 Some children take GCSEs  
15 to 16 Year 11 KS4 Most children take GCSEs or other national qualifications  


The school must report your child’s progress to you. This can happen in different ways, eg an end-of-term report or meetings at the school.

Children will start sitting the new national primary curriculum tests in 2016.


 Key stage 1 and 2

Compulsory national curriculum subjects at primary school are:

  • English
  • maths
  • science
  • design and technology
  • history
  • geography
  • art and design
  • music
  • physical education (PE), including swimming
  • computing
  • ancient and modern foreign languages (at key stage 2)

Schools must provide religious education (RE) but parents can ask for their children to be taken out of the whole lesson or part of it.

Schools often also teach:

  • personal, social and health education (PSHE)
  • citizenship
  • modern foreign languages (at key stage 1)

Tests and assessments

Year 1 phonics screening check

The check will take place in June when your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. You’ll find out how your child did, and their teacher will assess whether he or she needs extra help with reading. If your child doesn’t do well enough in the check they’ll have to do it again in Year 2.

Key stage 1

Key stage 1 tasks and tests cover:

  • reading
  • writing
  • speaking and listening
  • maths
  • science

The tasks and tests are taken when the school chooses.

Your child’s teacher will use the child’s work (including spoken work and homework) to work out what level your child is at in each area.

You can ask for the results but they’re only used to help the teacher assess your child’s work.

Key stage 2

Key stage 2 tests cover:

  • English reading
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling
  • maths (including mental arithmetic)

The tests are taken in mid-May and last under 5 hours 30 minutes in total. You’ll get the results in July. If your child is demonstrating higher achievement then the headteacher may put them in for extra tests.

When your child reaches the end of key stage 2 the teacher will also report on your child’s progress in English, maths and science

Information for SATs 2018

Assessment Principles

2 3 5 7 8 1 Visitors