The Governors would like to wish you a warm welcome to our school website. We feel privileged to support Rice Lane Primary School and Nursery and are extremely proud of its achievements and status amongst the local community. This is an outstanding school where children receive a varied curriculum in a stimulating environment from an extremely dedicated and professional staff.

We are a mixed body of volunteers consisting of parents and staff governors, local community governors and local authority governors. Our role is to act as a “critical friend” to the school; ensuring accountability and helping to monitor and evaluate performance. We meet at least once a term on sub-committees, covering various aspects of the running of the school, and then for a full governor meeting.

We, as a Governing Board, play a crucial and important role in how our school moves on, but we are often perceived as the “invisible” partner. In order for us to make ourselves more available to parents, carers and friends of Rice Lane Primary School and Nurser we would like to introduce ourselves.

We care about the children who attend our school and their families, we want the children to be happy and well looked after whilst reaching their full potential.

We will make ourselves available at parents’ evening and other school activities so that we can talk to you and listen to your comments and views. We would like to hear your views on how well the school is performing and any ideas you may have on how the school can improve. As your views are extremely important to us and the school and we hope you will feel you can ask any questions.  We can be contacted, via school e-mail at

Chair of Governors: Mr Frank Hilliard
Vice Chair of Governors: Mr John Hankin

If you need to contact a Governor then you can do so via the school address. 

Meet our Governors


Mr Frank Hilliard

Chair of Governors

Mr John Hankin

Vice Chair of Governors

Mrs Elizabeth Baxter

Co-Opted Governor

Mrs Pauline Davies

Co-Opted Governor

Miss Mary Dowrick

Co-Opted Governor

Mr Mark Gilbertson

Co-Opted Governor

Mrs Donna Lowe

Co-Opted Governor

Mrs Audrey Mattocks

Co-Opted Governor


Mr Paul Bradshaw

Local Authority Governor

Mr Bradley Guy

Staff Governor

Miss Claire McBride

Parent Governor

Miss Ellen McGrath

Parent Governor

Mr John Manwell

Associate Governor

Name of GovernorStatusAppointed ByDeclaration of InterestsTerm of OfficeAttendance Board Meetings 20/21Responsibilities
Mrs Elizabeth Baxter Co-opted GovernorGoverning BoardN/A29/11/2021 28/011/20253:3SEND
Mr Paul Bradshaw LA GovernorLocal AuthorityN/A11/01/2020 10/01/20242:3Pupil Premium
Mrs Pauline DaviesCo-opted GovernorGoverning BoardN/A22/05/2018 21/05/20222:3Deputy Pupil Premium
Miss Mary DowrickCo-opted GovernorGoverning BoardTrustee of a local Charity, Owner and landlord of several local residential properties30/10/2018 29/10/20222:3Deputy Safeguarding
Mr Mark GilbertsonCo-opted GovernorGoverning BoardSupplier of learning services15/11/2020 14/11/20243:3
Mr Bradley GuyStaff GovernorGoverning BoardN/A15/11/2020 14/11/20243:3
Mr John HankinCo-opted GovernorGoverning BoardGovernor at Pinehurst Primary School11/01/2020 10/01/20243:3Vice Chair
Mr Frank HilliardCo-opted GovernorGoverning BoardGovernor at Pinehurst Primary School11/01/2020 10/01/20243:3Chair, Mental Health and Wellbeing
Ms Donna LoweCo-opted GovernorGoverning BoardN/A01/03/2021 28/02/20252:2
Mr John ManwellAssociate GovernorGoverning BoardN/A11/01/2020 10/01/20240:3
Mrs Audrey Mattocks Co-opted GovernorGoverning BoardN/A11/01/2020 10/01/20243:3Safeguarding
Miss Claire McBrideParent GovernorGoverning BoardN/A30/10/2018 29/10/20223:3
Miss Ellen McGrath Parent GovernorGoverning BoardN/A30/10/2018 29/10/20221:3Deputy SEND
Mrs Lesley Roach HeadteacherGoverning BoardN/AN/A
Financial Statement

The Governing Body can confirm that no person is paid £100,000 or more. For further financial information please refer to the Financial Benchmarking page on the link below: